If a worker suffers any sort of serious work-related injury that will keep them sidelined for any amount of time, they naturally have very pressing concerns about how they will make up for the time away. After all, the bank won’t stop seeking to collect the mortgage payment, the power company won’t just keep the power on for free and the food in the cupboards won’t magically replenish itself.
The good news for people in this situation is that the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Act indicates that qualifying injured workers are entitled to several different types of work comp benefits depending upon their circumstances.
In today’s post, we’ll take a closer look at one of these classes of work comp benefits: temporary partial disability benefits.
What are temporary partial disability benefits?
Temporary partial disability benefits — or TPD benefits — are paid by the employer or their insurer when the injured worker is able to return to work in some capacity, typically performing limited or part-time duties for lower wages. They are, of course, temporary, meaning they end upon completion of the recovery period for the injured worker.
How much does an injured worker receive in TPD benefits?
State law dictates that TPD benefits are to be paid out to injured workers at the following rate: It must be equal to 50 percent of the difference between his or her average weekly wage, and their wage earning capacity in the same or different employment while considered temporarily partially disabled (subject to a max payout of 50 percent of the State’s average weekly wage).
What is the State’s average weekly wage?
The average weekly wage is an amount set every year by the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation and supplied to the Workers’ Compensation Commission to use in its various calculations.
We’ll continue this discussion in future posts, exploring temporary total disability benefits.
In the meantime, consider speaking with a skilled legal professional as soon as possible if you have been injured on the job and the insurance company has denied your claim for work comp benefits.